“A Prayer For This Man”

24 Dec

God, if this Man is the One for me,
then You have a mighty work to do,
so I must wait patiently.
A work in this Man and in Me,
because we both have strong feelings of enmity.
Not hatred, but hostility.
In him, that stems from past hurts that lead to fear.
Fear of trusting another to love him ALL inclusively.
In me, hostility from his rejection of my ALL inclusive Love
of which You’ve given me the ability
to Love this Man ALL inclusively!
The rejection leaves me drowning in feelings of insufficiency.
Dare I ask if the Love with which You’ve empowered me
to Love this Man is enough.
Instead, I’ll just continue to believe,
although this Big Girl walk is tough.
And so, I gird myself with Wisdom and
quietly thank You for healing this Man
in the Secret Places that I’m unable to see.
I trust that You’re making him whole and well,
just as You’re doing in me.
I’ve attempted to play the role of the Holy Ghost
a time or two,
But Daddy, at the end of the day,
NOBODY can heal and deliver like You.
So, I step back into my rightful place
as Woman, Intercessor, and Friend,
and I believe You, God, for
Wholeness for me and this Man
until the very END.

2 Responses to ““A Prayer For This Man””

  1. K. Shives December 24, 2010 at 4:52 am #

    I love it!

  2. Toni Parker December 30, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

    Absolutely Awesome….I love this poem

Leave a Reply

