Stay Where You Can Hear ME

13 Apr

This morning in prayer, I began to thank GOD for HIS voice and that I have an EAR to hear HIS voice….

I have a distinct childhood memory of the importance of hearing my dad’s voice as though it happened yesterday. I’d begged my dad to let me go outside and play with the other kids in the neighborhood, and he’d finally relented, but he gave me specific instructions not to go down the street where I couldn’t hear him calling me. I walked my little self right out the door, began chatting with my friends, and walked down the street. When we came back, my dad was standing on the sidewalk…. with the belt!!! He didn’t just get me, but he got my friends too! Before he “got” us, he explained to us that he had been calling us, and that when we go too far away, we can’t hear him. He talked about boundaries and what happens when we go beyond those boundaries. All I could think about at that time was the belt he had in his hand. 🙂

There’s safety in being able to hear the voice of GOD. Psalm 91:1 says:

“He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High, shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.”

When you’re close, HE can cover you! Simple instructions, such as STOP, GO, WAIT, STAY, and even REST are vital IF GOD gives them. “He who has an EAR, let him HEAR what the Spirit says to the churches. To him who overcomes I will give to eat from the tree of life, which is in the midst of the Paradise of God.” Rev. 2:7

 

One Response to “Stay Where You Can Hear ME”

  1. Shundell Mhoon April 13, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    bless you Andrea!

Leave a Reply

