Be Strong Enough to Get Low

4 Jan

I’ve quickly become an avid lover of Zumba, thanks to an amazing instructor/trainer, Laneta Anthony. Sometimes, she’s more like a drill sergeant because she’s yelling at me, “Andrea, get lower!!!” I roll my eyes and reply, “I’m low, but I’m taller than you, so it looks like I’m not.” She gives me that threatening look and yells back, “It doesn’t matter! You’re not low enough. Now, GET LOW!” What I realized in Zumba is that it takes a tremendous amount of strength to get low and stay there. After obeying her and doing the exercise properly, I feel the painful result for days, but then I begin to see manifestation…. I’m getting FINE!!!

HUMILITY is the state of being low, and it requires great strength. In our carnal states, it is natural to want to stand tall because we are a proud people and we’re taught that strength is in standing and holding our ground. We’re taught that to humble ourselves signifies our weakness. We’re taught that to be humble is humiliating. However, as I’ve read, studied, and meditated on scriptures about humility, I’ve received the revelation that humility takes great strength and is the sign of someone who will soon be exalted. Humility is a choice, which is why the Word admonishes us to humble OURSELVES. Just as I do in Zumba, we make excuses to GOD of how low we already are, and GOD still admonishes us to get lower. Humility is a sign that we believe that there is ONE greater Who lives within us, and by and through HIS example, we live an exalted and victorious life. Humility is not about feeling low, but is about having the heart and taking on the responsibility of a servant to a KING Who has already given us the keys to HIS Kingdom. Even our risen, exalted, and throned Savior, Jesus, kept the humble heart of a servant. It is through humility that we love one another, although we’re terrified of that love not being returned. It is through HUMILITY that we serve one another without expecting promotion and exaltation from each other, but KNOWING that promotion and exaltation comes from GOD. HUMILITY is NOT a sign of weakness. HUMILITY is for the strong! Can you get LOW and stay there???

1 Peter 5:5b-7

“Yes, all of you be submissive to one another, and be clothed with humility, for ‘God resists the proud, but gives grace to the humble.’ Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you in due time, casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.”

Leave a Reply

